October 27th, 2017

Last night saw the annual  UK Music Video Awards take place at The famous Camden Roundhouse.

Hosted once again by Adam Buxton, over 1000 British and International filmmakers gathered to celebrate creative and technical excellence in music videos from around the world.

Amongst an abundance of truly amazing work, the biggest winner was US director Ryan Staake’s video for Young Thug’s ‘Wyclef Jean’ which won Video of the Year as well as winning the Best Editing, and Best International Urban Video trophies.

Some other stand out pieces also included alt-j’s ‘3WW’ which won Best Alternative Video and Best Cinematography for director Young Replicant and DOP Dustin Lane and Bonobo’s ‘No Reason’ was also awarded Best Dance Video and Best Production Design for director Oscar Hudson and production designer Luke Moran Morris.

Other highlights from the night saw Best New Director go to Matilda Finn for her work with Danny Brown, Bicep and Obongjayar which also won her the Best Newcomer trophy for Dance Video.

The coveted title for Best Director was presented to Oscar Hudson whilst Best Producer went to Nathan Scherrer. Best overall Production Company went to Pulse Films celebrating what has been an outstanding year for them.

The Mill was also proud to continue their ongoing support of the ukmva's by sponsoring the Best Interactive Category. The winning piece came from Romain Chassaing for Naïve New Beaters ‘Words’.

A special mention must also go to Jake Nava who was presented with this year’s Icon Award. He is celebrated for his iconic work with some of the biggest names in pop on both sides of the pond, including Beyoncé, Lana del Rey, Pink, Kelis, Mark Morrison, Kylie Minogue, Mariah Carey, Britney Spears, Arctic Monkeys, Emeli Sande and Adele among others.

To see all the winners check out the UK MVA website.